Go Vegetarian! Go Vegan!

A vegan is a person who has chosen not to consume any animal products or by products. Some will even so far as not consuming honey and yeast, and others will not wear any clothing made from animal products. Therefore, vegan eliminates all animal products from his or her diet, including dairy.

On the other hand, Vegetarians do not eat meat, fish or poultry, but might eat dairy products such as cheese, eggs, yogurt or milk.

If you don’t eat animal proteins, you won’t be missing out calcium as long as you focus on other aspects of your diet. Vegetarians who eat dairy products can get calcium from cheese, milk yogurt, while vegans can replace dairy with soya products, such as tofu or calcium-fortified soya, and augment the much smaller amounts that are found in green vegetables.

Beans and pulses also contain some calcium. Even canned baked beans are a good source. Other foods that can bump up levels of calcium include chickpeas, dried figs, almonds, and calcium-fortified orange juice and rice milk. If you find it difficult to get enough calcium from your diet then consider a supplement.

1 comment:

Amor said...

I love eating veges but can't live without eating meat or fish.But every individual has each preferences.

Popular Posts